Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Data Flows

3 posters

Go down

Data Flows Empty Data Flows

Post  Balas Mon Apr 30, 2012 9:56 am

Hi Experts-

I'm new to DWH projects, but having good experience in Implementing Mainframe application developement projects. My lead asked me to provide data flows in the below scenarios.

1 Error Handling

So far I'm having the below flow,

Source table/File ==> Data Checks ==> Data Transformations

Data records failed during the Data checks will be send to the ERROR folder in the server, in the same format of the source table.

2 Source Table/File Not available/Validation/Archival

Need to have a flow If the required source table/file is not available in the specified folder.

Need to have a flow to validate a Source table/file for our requirements, like the table/file should be having the required columns. If the file/table not having the required columns should be errored out.

Need to have a flow to archive the source tables/files after a specied scheduled time slots.

Please provide your great help/suggestions in Implementing or drawing the above flows with good practices.

Thanks in advance,
-Balas

Balas

Back to top Go down

Data Flows Empty Re: Data Flows

Post  Mike Honey Mon Apr 30, 2012 8:21 pm

Hi Balas,

Here are my suggestions:

1 Error Handling

I load data from files into SQL staging tables as the first step, with every column defined as text e.g. nvarchar(4000). Error handling can then be managed with additional columns on the staging tables, rather than creating more files. Data management in a RDBMS is always going to be easier and more robust, and you open up powerful querying capabilities to understand the input data.