Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Filling fact table using a map dimension table

2 posters

Go down

Filling fact table using a map dimension table Empty Filling fact table using a map dimension table

Post  uzielbueno Wed Dec 18, 2013 8:35 pm

Hi everyone, i'm a beginner with DWH, after documenting the requirements of my DWH i'm facing the ETL process.

I need to fill a Dimension table which rows comes from many databases.
Between each of these databases some rows can have the same production key:

Database1
project table
id name
1 project1

Database2
project table
id name
1 project1

When i create the map table to assign a surrogate key to each project
looks like this

DimProjectMap
id Project Key(surrogate)
1 1 ->(this comes from Database1)
1 2 ->(this comes from Database2)

Until here everything is ok

Now i fill my Dimension table
DimProject
Project Key Name
1 Project 1
2 Project 2

After all this looks good, but when i faced the filling of the fact table
i need to relate back to the production id of every project to get the
facts of each.

The problem is that in the map table 2 or even more projects could have
the same production id, so if i relate back to the facts using the map table
i will get the facts of all of the projects for each project, this is not good.

I wonder if there is a pattern or solution to this problem.

Thanks in advance for everybody.

uzielbueno

Back to top Go down

Filling fact table using a map dimension table Empty Re: Filling fact table using a map dimension table

Post  ngalemmo Thu Dec 19, 2013 1:23 am

You haven't made it clear if a project with the same ID on different databases is actually the same project or a completely different project.