Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Updating facts

2 posters

Go down

Updating facts  Empty Updating facts

Post  noobdimmodeler Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:55 pm

Hi. I am new to dimensional modeling and am wondering if this is a proper approach. Should I be reading up on a technique that I am unaware of?

The following block is explained in the lines after it. Assume daily loads.

----

I intend to have the following fields in my fact table:

item_sk, transaction_date_sk, action,  status, current_flag, current_on_date, not_current_on_date, 3-4 more SKs for other descriptive info (such as library card #).

R1: 123, 456 (SK for 4 days ago), out, complete, Yes, yesterday, SK for NULL

R2: 123, 789, request, pending, Yes, 3 days ago, SK for null.

R3: 123, 334, request, pending, Yes, 2 days ago, SK for null.

(not yet in the table- look when i reference it in the lines below)

R4: 123, sk for today, returned, 0, complete, Yes, today, SK for null.

-----------

Think of this as a library where you can check books out, check them in and request them.

The row R1 means that the book has been borrowed by someone 4 days ago.

Rows 2 and 3 (R2 and R3) mean that two other people have requested the book 1 day after it was checked out and 2 days after it was checked out. There are two active requests for the book and these are pending requests.

R4 means that the book was returned today. When the book is returned, I would insert R4 and update R1. In R1 I would set the current_flag to "No" (as the book is now returned), not_current_on_date to today.

Two people have requested the book and may pick it up in the next couple of days. The member in R2 comes in tomorrow to pick up the book. I would then insert R5:

R5: 123, 555 (SK for tomorrow), out, complete, Yes, tomorrow's date, SK for NULL.