Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dimension or Fact?

4 posters

Go down

Dimension or Fact? Empty Dimension or Fact?

Post  ryno1234 Wed Jan 07, 2015 10:50 am

I'm new to dimensional modeling and am currently working my way through "The Data Warehouse Toolkit". I'm having trouble wrapping my head around whether or not the concept I'm trying to model is a dimension or fact. The scenario is below:

"Staffing Company" receives a "requisition" which is nothing more than an order from "Company A" for "Staffing Company" to find x number of candidates to place at "Company A". These requisitions can be open for quite a while as it takes a long time to completely place candidates at "Company A" (could takes months or even longer).

A requisition has the following attributes:

• The number of open positions
  • The title of the position
  • The client / company that the requisition belongs to
  • Date Received
  • Date Filled
  • Pay Rate
  • Bill Rate
  • The location that the candidates will work at (City / State / ZIP)
  • Current status (Open, Filled, Cancelled, etc)
  • etc.

I can see this being both a fact (as a pipeline) or a dimension. I can see it being a dimension because there are other facts that would relate to it, for example: A candidate can apply to a requisition.

This makes it difficult for me to determine the "what" of what this actually is that I'm trying to model.

As a side note, if this is a dimension, what would I do with the fact that the dimension would carry attributes for my Client (client name, client address, client type, etc. etc. etc) which are all attributes of a client dimension I already have (not to mention location attributes, time attributes, etc). Given that I don't want a snowflake schema here, I need to figure out what the best course of action is with these attributes.
ryno1234
ryno1234

Back to top Go down

Dimension or Fact? Empty Re: Dimension or Fact?