Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Modeling multiple multivalued dimensions and other design questions

2 posters

Go down

Modeling multiple multivalued dimensions and other design questions Empty Modeling multiple multivalued dimensions and other design questions

Post  mugen_kanosei Thu Feb 12, 2009 10:47 pm

Hello, all. This is my first time working on a dimensional model and I have some questions regarding multivalue dimensions.

I am modeling our Remedy trouble ticket process and was settling on the grain being each individual ticket. The problems come in when I started looking at the technicians, work log, and audit log. The work log and audit log are very similar in design. For each ticket there is a CLOB field that holds all the work log entries for the steps the technician took to resolve the problem. There is a timestamp, technician that made the entry, and the actual entry. The audit log is similar but tracks changes that happen to the ticket, timestamp, technician that made the change, type of change (i.e. assigned to new group, status changed from pending to work in progress, etc.) I need to break these CLOBS apart into individual rows for each entry to allow the business users to search for tickets that had an entry made during a time period, or work log entries made my certain individuals, etc. This puts this at a much higher grain than the fact table and I was looking at information for multivalue dimensions and thought I had it resolved with the weighting, etc. But then it occurred to me, how do you handle weighting when you have multiple mulitvalued dimension? We are looking at getting Business Objects edge and they built a demo universe for a single multivalue dimension, but it didnt occur till today about multiple mutlivalue dimensions.