Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Employee Performance Monitoring

3 posters

Go down

Employee Performance Monitoring Empty Employee Performance Monitoring

Post  flamblaster Sat Jan 02, 2016 1:24 am

Hi, I'm somewhat new to dimensional modeling.  I've been reading the Kimball DW toolkit series over the last year and working on a project at work.  Going through the bus matrix, my group is having a difficult time determining the grain for employee performance.  Some of the business processes that we're interested in are:

Bus Operator work time by shift by day
Bus Operator hours driven by shift by day
Bus Operator late reports by day
Bus Operator collisions by shift by day
Bus Operator incidents (going off route for example) by shift by day
Bus Operator passenger boardings by shift by day
Bus Operator scheduled monthly meetings
Bus Operator monthly meetings attended

It would be very easy for us to create a fact table that summarizes all of these measurements by bus operator by day, but then, as you could imagine, much of the business analysis drill down would be lost.  Trying to pull everything together into one fact table without pre-aggregating would cause issues as well.  For example, there could be 3 shifts that a bus operator drives in a day but a late report isn't explicitly correlated with a shift in the data.  A monthly meeting could be part of a bus operator's shift, but it only happens once per month and may not be its own shift.  The business users will want to see all of this information together.  The summary table would work for that, but I'd like to explore techniques for bringing these various elements together without violating the grain.  Any advice, links to similar situations etc would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

flamblaster

Back to top Go down

Employee Performance Monitoring Empty Re: Employee Performance Monitoring

Post  nick_white Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:03 pm