Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Loading Fact Table with Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension

5 posters

Go down

Loading Fact Table with Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension Empty Loading Fact Table with Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension

Post  jgaull Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:01 pm

I'm new to data warehousing .. sorry if this is a basic question.

I have a type 2 slowly changing dimension already loaded and now I want to load a fact table. At least, I think it should be a fact table. A lot of the entities in the dimension table have a schedule associated with them. I thought it would be best to implement the schedule as a fact table. The problem I'm having is that the schedule should apply to all instances of an entity in the dimension table. Is the best solution to create a bridge dimension table that contains only unique entities from my dimension table?

Here's a made up example scenario:

I have students in a student dimension. I track changes (type 2) on the students' address so each student can have multiple records in the dimension table. I have another table (fact table) with each student's class schedule. I want to relate the class schedule to all instances of the student. Should I create another dimension table that only contains 1 row per student and relate the fact table to this "bridged" table?

Thanks!

jgaull

Back to top Go down

Loading Fact Table with Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension Empty Re: Loading Fact Table with Type 2 Slowly Changing Dimension

Post  ngalemmo Tue Jun 01, 2010 5:17 pm

jgaull wrote: I want to relate the class schedule to all instances of the student.

Why?