Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions.

3 posters

Go down

Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions. Empty Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions.

Post  PugMaster Wed Jul 07, 2010 6:04 am

Hi

Sorry datawarehouse newbie question! I have many years experience with relational databases but my head is not yet around the dimensional model. I am not sure how to maintain the relationship between Fact and Type 2 Dimension.

i.e if a new row is inserted into a dimension table as an updated version of a previous row how is the relationship to the fact table maintained. Do you need to insert a new row in the fact table also or is there a better way to maintain this relationship via keys?

Thanks in advance, and once again sorry for what is probably a dumb question.

Cheers, Paul

PugMaster

Back to top Go down

Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions. Empty Re: Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions.

Post  BoxesAndLines Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:54 am

All new facts will get the new version of the dimension. The existing fact rows do not change. This is how history is maintained.
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions. Empty Re: Unsure about relationship with Slowly Changing dimensions.

Post  PugMaster Wed Jul 07, 2010 9:18 am

Thanks for your reply, are you saying that i should be reloading all the facts periodically (daily etc) not sure i have my head around this correctly.

in my example i have a Policy Fact table and one of my dimensions is Customer, if the customer address changes then my fact table still relates to the old row with the old address.