Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Difference between a Cube and a Star

+2
ngalemmo
rf001
6 posters

Go down

Difference between a Cube and a Star Empty Difference between a Cube and a Star

Post  rf001 Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:19 am

Hello,

I have a very basic question. Can anyone please, explain the difference between a cube and a star schema?

I studied about Star schema. When I implement it in Oracle Warehouse Builder 11g, I have to create a cube. Am I doing right?

regards,
rf001
rf001

Back to top Go down

Difference between a Cube and a Star Empty Re: Difference between a Cube and a Star

Post  ngalemmo Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:00 pm

At a logical level, there is no difference between a cube and a star. It is a matter of physical database implementation. You can implement a star as a cube (multidimensional database) or in a relational database. Cubes are usually queried using MDX as opposed to SQL.

The base data warehouse is usually created in a relational database because of its ability to store large amounts of detailed data. Cubes provide higher performance but do not have the capacity a RDb has.

I am not aware of anything in OWB that forces you to create a cube.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Difference between a Cube and a Star Empty Re: Difference between a Cube and a Star

Post  rf001 Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:58 pm

Thanks,
It was really helpful to clarify the concepts.
regards,
rf001
rf001

Back to top Go down

Post  gerardnico Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:21 pm

@ngalemmo Too good definition. I like your comments.

Just to add that in OWB, you can choose your cube implementation in the second tab as :
* ROLAP (in the Oracle Relational Database with fact table, dimension, hierarchy, materialized view),
* of MOLAP (in the Oracle OLAP Database with a cube)

Cube is a logical term that is more used in the multidimensional database field.
It's a metadata construction.