Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Recursive Hierarchy Data Modelling

+2
BoxesAndLines
jaiveeru
6 posters

Go down

Recursive Hierarchy Data Modelling Empty Recursive Hierarchy Data Modelling

Post  jaiveeru Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:14 am

Hiiii

I am pretty new to data warehousing, now after reading a little literature on Data Modelling from our Guru's book Data Warehousing Toolkit I am guessing what could be done to create a data model for my problem.
I have a recursively hierarchical database which means it contains tree structure. And hence I have challenges like

1. How to model such a relationship.
2. How to effectively let the business user select a piece of that tree structure etc.

Any directions or hints will be appreciated.

Regards,
Manish

jaiveeru

Back to top Go down

Recursive Hierarchy Data Modelling Empty Re: Recursive Hierarchy Data Modelling

Post  BoxesAndLines Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:32 pm

www.dbmsmag.com/9809d05.html
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Post  jaiveeru Fri May 01, 2009 9:48 am

Hiiii

Thanks for the response.

I did implement my dimensions using a bridge in between but if you see the relationship between tables
i.e. Bridge table to fact table

are coming many to many... I am not sure if this is going to be acceptable !!!

Even the solution you gave me doesn't take that matter into consideration (may be it's not worth considering :p)
Whole thing is would I still be able to publish a model with a many to many relationship between dimension and fact?

Please help

Regards,
Manish

jaiveeru

Back to top Go down

Post  BoxesAndLines Sat May 02, 2009 11:14 am

Many to many relationships are never acceptable.
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Post  radsampath Wed May 06, 2009 9:35 am

Can you explain how its becoming many to many ,please provide some example

radsampath

Back to top Go down

Post  ngalemmo Mon May 18, 2009 2:28 pm