Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Data Vault vs Kimball

5 posters

Go down

Data Vault vs Kimball Empty Data Vault vs Kimball

Post  itcouple Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:07 am

Hi

I'm trying to understand how Data Vault Modelling fits Kimball. I have limited knowledge of Data Vault and I understand it as a way to store data without modifications.

From this point of view it look to like Data Vault is "before" Star Schema and I would probably place some kind of MDM (for dimensions) in between for cleansing purposes (business Interpretation + extra reporting functionality like order). Is that accurate or is Data Vault supposed to replace Kimball way for building Star Schema?

Data Vault is quite appealing for me as it might potentially solve the problem of losing data and not being able to re-create history or re-create dimensions (switching to SCD) and obviously audit is becoming very critical for more and more organizations.

I would appreciate your comments.
Regards
Emil

itcouple

Back to top Go down

Data Vault vs Kimball Empty Re: Data Vault vs Kimball

Post  ngalemmo Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:25 pm

Data Vault is a store and publish architecture. It is similar to Inmon, the difference being the technique used to model the data store. Like Inmon, users do not directly query the store, instead, data is published to data marts (star schema) or other forms of extracts.
ngalemmo
ngalemmo

http://aginity.com

Back to top Go down

Data Vault vs Kimball Empty what about Managing Dimensions

Post  itcouple Tue Nov 27, 2012 5:41 pm