Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thoughts about SAP BW? I could use some fresh viewpoints...

+3
mark.tan
AppArch
bgray
7 posters

Go down

Thoughts about SAP BW?  I could use some fresh viewpoints... Empty Thoughts about SAP BW? I could use some fresh viewpoints...

Post  bgray Tue Feb 10, 2009 1:13 pm

I'm a BI consultant and data architect in New England and I've been designing and implementing dimensionally modeled data warehouses for a long time. I am a full believer in this stuff and understand the theory quite well. However, in light of one of last year's big ERP/BI company mergers, we are involved in a lot more business with companies using SAP. I've implemented two data warehouses against SAP (and other sources) and the resulting BI solutions have been well received by the business users. Being a Kimball purist, I have generally dismissed BW as a DW solution in the past. Admittedly I don't know a lot about the product but what research I have done, implementations I've seen and comparison's I've made convince me it is not a better solution than a dimensionally modeled DW. In the real life examples I've seen, the solution is comprised of an ODS (usually akin to a data dumping ground) and a bunch of disconnected cubes. I've also come to understand that the development time for incremental BW based solutions are typically triple that of a dimensional model. My experience and observations come to the same conclusion. Despite this, there is always tremendous political pressure to justify a dimensional approach to DWing vs the "Canned" BW solution. I can see value in using BW integrated change detection capabilities so assist the staging process, but I've yet to see comprehensive data model in BW that even comes close to the benefits of a good dimensional model. But again, political pressures are huge from senior management that have no technical understanding nor desire to understand