Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Model available time per day in timesheet data warehouse: fact or dimension or neither?

3 posters

Go down

Model available time per day in timesheet data warehouse: fact or dimension or neither? Empty Model available time per day in timesheet data warehouse: fact or dimension or neither?

Post  heilet Mon Mar 16, 2009 10:53 am

Hi
I am new to data warehousing and related subjects and as a first project I am busy analyzing our timesheet data. I would like some design ideas for the following problem: I need to compare each consultant’s weekly (and monthly and annual) utilization, i.e. time logged compared to available time.

The data warehouse consists of one fact table (FactActivityLog) and 5 related dimension tables, the most important one for this problem being DimDate. In all similar examples that I have found online the issue is either comparing data in one fact table to data in the same table but for a different period (e.g. compare current year’s sales to previous year’s sales data) or comparing it to data in another fact table (compare sales to forecast). My problem is that I don’t know where to store the available time data.

I have come up with these possible solutions:
• Add an AvailableHours column to the DimDate table (not 100% sure what I would do from there, but it’s a start).
• Create another fact table FactAvailableHours and then follow online examples for comparing data from two fact tables (i.e. sales to forecast).
• Don’t store available hours in the data warehouse, but rather try to calculate it in the SSAS cube. (I’m using SSAS 2008).

Is there a best way of doing this? Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks in advance!

heilet

Back to top Go down

Model available time per day in timesheet data warehouse: fact or dimension or neither? Empty Number of hours is a fact

Post  Jeff Smith Tue Mar 31, 2009 4:03 pm