Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Measuring transit-times between varying start- & end-states

2 posters

Go down

Measuring transit-times between varying start- & end-states Empty Measuring transit-times between varying start- & end-states

Post  rburcksen Thu Oct 21, 2010 11:57 am

Please find below a business case outlining the user requirements for an ad-hoc reporting environment and for which I would like to invite your comments on the solution I have come up with. I’m new to data-modelling and I value any suggestions you may have to improve my model.

Background
This ad-hoc reporting environment will be used to report on civil court cases. During the lifecycle of a court case the status of a court case changes multiple times until the final resolution..
In order to mark a current status for a court case as ‘complete’, the transactional system requires that the user selects a new status. Only then will the current status be marked as complete.

A sample of typical court cases and their statuses (A/B/C etc):
Note: The statuses are listed in their chronological order. Each combination of case & status is associated with a date and a completion flag.

Case 1: A > B > C > D > E > F > G > H > I> J
Case 2: A > D > F > G > J
Case 3: A > B > C > F > B > C> H > I

As you can see above, the number of statuses for each court case can be different. Not all court cases go through the same statuses. ( Case 2 is never assigned status B or C).
Also the order in which the statuses are applied can vary (Case 3 is ‘reset’ to status B after reaching status F)

User requirements
The data-model needs to support the following two requirements:
1. Users want to have the flexibility to choose a begin- and endstatus between wich the report should calculate the (average) transit-time.
Example: If a user wants to measure the transit time between status A & D, then case 1 & 2 need to be reported.