Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dates in many dimensions

4 posters

Go down

Dates in many dimensions Empty Dates in many dimensions

Post  rf001 Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:42 am

Hello,

I am new to DW. Currently, I am working on a Human Resource database. There are many tables in the source systems which stores dates e.g. dates about contract start, finish, Vacations of an employee, temporary service suspension and many more.

In this situation is it better to use a Date dimension and reference it in the dimensions which stores the dates or I should simply include the dates in the dimensions?
thanks,
rf
rf001
rf001

Back to top Go down

Dates in many dimensions Empty Re: Dates in many dimensions

Post  Jeff Smith Wed Dec 29, 2010 2:20 pm

I prefer to use a snowflake design when it comes to dates on other dimensions.

I figure there are 3 possible options. 1) Snowflake to a date dimension, 2) Put the date on the dimension table, 3) Mixed, depending upon how it will be used.

In my opinion, consistency very important so option 3 ranks at the bottom. There are times when I need the extended information in the date dimension to be avaliable for the date in the non-date dimension, which would exclude option 2. That leaves option 1.

In my database, a calendar date is only found in the Date Dimension.

Jeff Smith

Back to top Go down

Post  hang Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:50 pm

If there is no time (hour, minute et.) involved, I agree with Jeff, have FK for most date attributes in dimensions. Not quite sure about things like birthdate, I would leave it as calendar date.