Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Conformance of Dimension for facts aggregated at different levels

3 posters

Go down

Conformance of Dimension for facts aggregated at different levels Empty Conformance of Dimension for facts aggregated at different levels

Post  raikarleena Mon May 25, 2009 6:10 am

I am a newbie to Data Modeling. I am modeling a warehouse for Global reporting solution for a business operating in 3 countries. 2 business processes involved are "Sales" and "shipment Expenses"

The input is sumarized excel files generated by each country. My input is sumarized and not at lowest possible grain as per best practices.

Sales data is sumarized by calender month, Region
Shipment Expense data is sumarized by calender month, store

Where one Regions has multiple stores and one store is in one and only 1 region.

Where store dimension attributes are:
store key
store name
Region
country (one country has many regions)
territory (one territory has many countries)

I see that i should be able to compare both the numbers (Sales amount and Shipment expense) at Region, Country, Territory. Store is a conformed dimension but Sales Fact cannot have a store key as sales Fact is a summarized table.

What would be the best way to model it?

1. Have additional record in store dim at region level for each distinct region and have a store key for that region (This would have no specific store data)? So I could compare the 2 nos at Region or higher level

2. A new Dimension Region with 1 row for each distinct Region in store DIm and a new region key.

3. Associate a store key to Sales Fact (May be the minimum one for the region data complies to in store Dim). But This would mean I am manupulating as data is at region and cannot have store key. But i could still compare the 2 nos at Region or higher level (country, territory)