Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fact table for transactional data

3 posters

Go down

Fact table for transactional data Empty Fact table for transactional data

Post  JV99 Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:43 pm

Hi,

I am new to BI, my company deployed an ERP system about a year ago, now we are moving toward to DW / Cube implementation.
We are in the stage of defining our own DW (Fact and dimensions tables).
My question is
Transaction tables such as Sales line , purchase line, etc. (contains data field calls [status] as example, which could be open, delivered / received, Invoiced or Paid); this status field kept changing while it goes thru the business process (updated to delivered after user performed packing slip on the sales order ; A customer refund (credit note) will change it from "Invoiced" to "delivered" stage.
We want to include transactional data into our Sales Fact table, what is the best way to upload / handle data from OLTP to our DW?
Should we update existing record in DW when the status of sales order changed or create a new record for the same sales order line (ledger like fashion) and added a column to identify the Sales line as “Current”?

Thanks,
JV

JV99

Back to top Go down

Fact table for transactional data Empty Re: Fact table for transactional data

Post  ngalemmo Mon Nov 07, 2011 11:49 pm

Business process are usually a good parallel to fact tables that are required in a dw. From what you describe there are probably at least three: orders, fulfillment, invoicing, and possibly AR. Orders would contain customer orders as they are received and accepted. Fulfillment would contain shipments/receipts by a customer with a back reference to the order. Invoicing would contain invoice information with a back reference to fulfillment and order.