Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dimension Record Comes and Gos

2 posters

Go down

Dimension Record Comes and Gos Empty Dimension Record Comes and Gos

Post  ngarris Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:31 pm

I am an experienced DBA in the OLTP world. I need to create a data warehouse for our population statistics. I've done some reading on the Kimball fact/dimension method and it seems very strong and complete so I'm trying to follow it but my knowledge is very limited.

I have a fact table for births:

Birth year and month
Birth county
Child's gender
Child's race (race_id)
Mother's race (race_id)
Child Hispanic?
Mother Hispanic?
Age of mother
Number of births (for this year, month, county, race, etc.)

I have a dimension table for race:

Race_id
Race description
Start date
End date

How we are tracking race has changed over time:

1970-1979: White, Hispanic, Asian & Pacific Islander, Black, American Indian

1990-1999: Non-Hispanic White, Non-Hispanic Asian/Pacific Islander, Non-Hispanic Black, Non-Hispanic Indian, Hispanic White, Hispanic Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic Black, Hispanic Indian

2000 – present: White, Hispanic, Asian, Pacific Islander, Black, American Indian, MultiRace

I was planning on using the Type 2 Dimension to track the changes. The problem is that White, Hispanic, Black, and American Indian are good for two periods of time, 1970 through 1979, and again 2000 to present. It seems that there should be only one record per race. But with a single start date and end date, that is not possible. Should I add multiple start/end dates? Store multiple dimension records for each race? With multiple dimension records, the computer won't know that White in 1970 is the same as White in 2000.

ngarris

Back to top Go down

Dimension Record Comes and Gos Empty Re: Dimension Record Comes and Gos

Post  ngalemmo Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:01 am

There are a few things to consider.