Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie at Data Modeling

3 posters

Go down

Newbie at Data Modeling Empty Newbie at Data Modeling

Post  hespinoza Tue Feb 19, 2013 6:06 pm

I have always heard the term of "Data Modeling" and I have even built a few reports using a data warehouse. However I have really never been involved in the data warehouse creation process. I just recently took a position as a DBA and we have started talking about creating our own Data Warehouse. I have a feeling that we are going to use dimensional modeling and I understand the big idea, however, when I start reading about it I get very confuse on the terms and how to go about it. Since I'm very new to this concept, where would I start reading and training on data modeling with the goal to create a data warehouse? This is a huge project that at this point is out of my comfort zone and skills. My employer is big in training and very supportive.

Thank you in advance for any guidance.

hespinoza

Back to top Go down

Newbie at Data Modeling Empty Re: Newbie at Data Modeling

Post  Mike Honey Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:05 am

Hi hespinoza

I think your approach is a good one. The best starting point is probably the "core concepts" page on the KG website:

http://www.kimballgroup.com/data-warehouse-and-business-intelligence-resources/kimball-core-concepts/

That will probably point you towards the most suitable Kimball books and thereby courses to suit you.

I would suggest that before you go too far, have a go in a "proof of concept" mode at a single fact with a couple of dimensions based on your own data. Pick something simple and unambigous. This will generate some good questions you can ask at training or on this forum.

Good luck!
Mike
Mike Honey
Mike Honey

http://www.mangasolutions.com

Back to top Go down

Post  hespinoza Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:56 pm