Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rebuilding Dimension, effect on fact table

4 posters

Go down

Rebuilding Dimension, effect on fact table Empty Rebuilding Dimension, effect on fact table

Post  DomCotton Tue Oct 01, 2013 6:18 am

Hi,

Firstly please excuse me being new to Data Warehousing, my terminologies are maybe not 100%!

I have built a data warehouse mostly from self taught forums, questions, books, etc.  I started with my data modelling.  I built a reasonable environment (in my opinion) but after it was put live, i started to receive many request for additional attributes within dimensions.  I am struggling to know how to handle this in my live environment.  What I currently do is add the atributes (or additional snowflaked dimensions) to my model, then i rebuild the dimension, after which my primary keys (which i auto generate) change.  This forces me to perform a full drop and reload of all my facts that are linked to these affected dimensions.  The reason i have to do this is becuase when i perform my lookups for keys on the dimensions, i drop the business key from my flow and don't store it in my fact table.

One idea i had was to keep the business keys in the fact tables next to the joined keys but suppress them in a view in my source DB.  This way i could run a series of update scripts to refresh the keys.  Is this approach common?  Is there a better way?  Am I looking at this totally the wrong way?

I am not sure if this is the right topic to post into, so please move it if necessary.

Thanks in advance,
Dom

DomCotton

Back to top Go down

Rebuilding Dimension, effect on fact table Empty Re: Rebuilding Dimension, effect on fact table

Post  ngalemmo Tue Oct 01, 2013 12:01 pm

Dimension surrogate primary keys should never change. A process that requires fact table keys to be reassigned is not sustainable.

You need to rethink how you maintain dimension tables.
ngalemmo