Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Clients, Roles and Rates

3 posters

Go down

Clients, Roles and Rates Empty Clients, Roles and Rates

Post  MontyBI Thu Mar 06, 2014 11:43 am

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to dimensional modelling in a DW scenario, and have found the Kimball Group site very helpful so far.

I have a particular dimensional model that I'm trying to implement with type 2 changing dimensions, but am unsure of the *best* (or most appropriate) way to achieve it.

My scenario involves Employees working on a daily granularity for Clients, with specific Rates for each Client/Role combination.

Each Client has a particular Rate for each Role.

At first I tried to model this with separate dimensional tables for Employees, Roles and Clients, with a ClientRate mapping table containing the following:

ClientId, RoleId, Rate

for example:

Client1, Developer, $1000
Client1, Project Manager, $1100
Client2, Developer, $800
Client2, Project Manager, $900

However, this seems like it would lead to lots of dimension update headaches if a Role or Client changes, all of the rates would need new entries between the updated dimensions. I'm not sure if I should even have mapping tables between dimensions or try to have a flat as possible star schema.

I'm struggling to implement a star schema for this scenario where I don't need to replicate values between dimensions.

Should I just go with an approach that stores the following in the fact table:

ClientId, EmployeeId, DateId, Rate (measure)

Where I don't try to model the relationship between clients, roles and rates in the DW?

Any experienced views on this sort of model would be much appreciated, my Kimball book is still in the mail.

Thank you,

MontyBI

Back to top Go down

Clients, Roles and Rates Empty Re: Clients, Roles and Rates

Post  nick_white Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:10 pm