Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to resolve a many to many relationship? Bridge Table or Utilize the same fact table?

3 posters

Go down

How to resolve a many to many relationship? Bridge Table or Utilize the same fact table? Empty How to resolve a many to many relationship? Bridge Table or Utilize the same fact table?

Post  cmp66 Wed Mar 12, 2014 3:29 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to dimensional modeling so please bear with me.

The question is how to resolve a many to many relationship between a fact and dimension table.

The business case is that we have an unemployment counselor who will review a case and refer the case (claimant) to one or more services. Services can be additional counseling, school, etc. lets say we have 20 different services.

Design #1: Utilizes a bridge table.

Service Dimension table with columns Service_id (surrogate key), Service Code and Service Description columns

Claimant Case Review Fact table with columns Claimant_Case_Review_id(lets assume I used a surrogate key on the fact table to make things easier), review start date, review end date, referred to services date, completed services date, exempt from services flag.

Service Claimant Case Review Bridge table with foreign keys Service_id and Claimant_Case_Review_id. Lets assume I have load_date and a time dimension.

For example if  the case was referred to 3 services then the fact table will have 1 record and the bridge table will have 3 records.

Design #2: Utilize the fact table

Service Dimension table with columns Service_id (surrogate key), Service Code and Service Description columns

Claimant Case Review Fact table with columns Claimant_Case_Review_id(lets assume I used a surrogate key on the fact table to make things easier), Service_id (foreign key), review start date, review end date, referred to services date, completed services date, exempt from services flag.