Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Linking Facts tables

4 posters

Go down

Linking Facts tables Empty Linking Facts tables

Post  EstVal Wed May 28, 2014 12:45 pm

I'm pretty new to Dimensional Modeling and working on trying to build a Data Mart, in my domain we have companies which have  measures like PE, market cap etc, they change all the time but for our purpose capturing end of day is good enough, companies are also tied to Industries, sectors, countries, regions, so as far as companies goes, I have:

CompanyFact (contains fields like PE, Market Cap, CompanyDimId, RegionDimId, SectorDimId, etc)
CompanyDim (contains stuff that just doesn't change much like Name, Symbol, etc)
RegionDim (contains region and country)
SectorDim (contains Sector, industry)

Also we have portfolios which has measures like position value and other items, so we have this modeled like:

PositionFact (which contains PositionValue and other items, PorfolioDimId)
PortfolioDim (which contains portfolio items)

With this in mind, we tend to have requests like give me the total value for all the positions in a portfolio broken down by market cap or sector or many other items in the CompanyFact table.

The main question is if I should have a PositionFact pointing to the CompanyFact directly or the CompanyDim, not really finding much in terms of linking facts tables is good or bad, anyone has any ideas or suggestions on this?

Any help would be appreciated!
Thanks

EstVal

Back to top Go down

Linking Facts tables Empty Re: Linking Facts tables

Post  BoxesAndLines Wed May 28, 2014 1:05 pm

Company is a dimension, not a fact. I think that solves all your issues here. :-)
BoxesAndLines
BoxesAndLines

Back to top Go down

Post  ngalemmo Wed May 28, 2014 2:13 pm

I'm a bit confused by the terminology.