Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Modelling - Financial Advice (Sales)

4 posters

Go down

Modelling - Financial Advice (Sales) Empty Modelling - Financial Advice (Sales)

Post  montanajr Tue Jan 05, 2016 11:53 am

Hello all,

Looking for a bit of guidance as I am relatively new to dimensional modelling and have a bit of a quandary as to how this would be achieved for the Financial Advice industry.  I am looking to dimension-ally model sales (income) data as I think it would be useful to interrogate via SSAS, so my first point of call is designing a star schema.

In this particular industry, both products and services are offered to Clients. A product can be an investment (of varying types) and a service could be a single, ad hoc fee paid. The aim of this star schema is to report on both of these types of income - the grain of the fact table would therefore be to look at what income has been received for a particular Sales Person, for a particular Client, on a particular day for a particular product OR service. It is the last bit that I am struggling with. I would have the below dimensions for certain:

Client
Financial Adviser (Sales Person)
Date

I was then planning on having a Product dimension that included the various types of investment products and an entry for "Financial Advice", which would allow me to capture the "service" side of income. But a Product can have various types of income; annual management charges, initial investment fees, so I was planning on having a further dimension of Income Measure, which stipulated the type of income. This would only relate to a product however, as a Service is always an income type of Fee.