Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Best BI Software for Kimball Method?

4 posters

Go down

Best BI Software for Kimball Method? Empty Best BI Software for Kimball Method?

Post  robfb Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:56 pm

I am a financial analyst with an MBA trying to gain a depth in understanding the BI universe. I am currently devouring the DW Toolkit, 2nd edition book, in addition to my own research, and have learned a great deal in only the past few weeks. In my department, we are fortunate to have as our core data a well implemented dimensional model, although it is purely Access 2007 based.

I've witnessed first hand the power of this approach and would like to see it move into the professional software space.

I would like to hear people's thoughts on what BI company (SAP, Cognos, Microsoft, Oracle, etc.) would be the best suited for the Kimball philosophy on data warehousing and also which ones would be anathema to such an approach. I think I already have a good feel for SAP BW based on this posting!

Please forgive my naivete if this question is too simplistic. The jargon and sometimes slippery definitions I am finding in the BI world makes it difficult to navigate.

Thank you!

robfb

Back to top Go down

Best BI Software for Kimball Method? Empty Re: Best BI Software for Kimball Method?

Post  ngalemmo Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:06 pm

Its getting harder to figure out who has what these days, with all the consolidations and marketing hubris going on. But if you ignore platforms and "solutions" and just look at end user reporting and analytics tools, all the major vendors do a good job of supporting dimensional data warehouses implemented on relational platforms. In this list I would include Business Objects (SAP), Cognos and MicroStrategy (in no particular order). I would not include Microsoft because their tools are tied to their database, not because of any lack of capability or functionality.