Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

SSAS First And Last Time

3 posters

Go down

SSAS First And Last Time Empty SSAS First And Last Time

Post  PugMaster Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:45 am

Hi

I have a cube built in SSIS to analyse call center agent activity. One of the things the management would like to see against the date of the activity is the First and Last activity time. I do not know how to write the MDX in SSAS to achieve this as i am not that experienced with either SSAS or MDX.

Many activities are shown against a date and the start and end time of these activities as you drill through the cube.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kind Regards
Paul

PugMaster

Back to top Go down

SSAS First And Last Time Empty Re: SSAS First And Last Time

Post  Lindell Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:28 am

I'm propably completely wrong here, but isn't it possible to use the agreggation function (in the cube structure) on the fact table and use Max, Min for this?

Lindell

Back to top Go down

Post  PugMaster Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:58 am

Hi

I have tried using the Min function as a calculated member like this

MIN([Activity Time].[Start Time])

But that shows nothing, I am sure the answer is simple but i am a SSAS newbie. I am not sure how to do a min or max via the aggregations tab.

Kind Regards
Paul

PugMaster

Back to top Go down

Post  Lindell Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:57 am

Well you won't need any calculated member if you do like this, again there are so many gurus here that propably have better solutions but I think this will work.

Open the cube, go to Cube Structure tab, right click the fact date (ex FK_ActivityTime) and choose New Measure. Go to the Measure box (upper left) and right click edit measure and put Usage on the top to Maximum for the correct source column (might need to tick "Show all columns" on the bottom) and repeat for Minimum. Reprocess and deploy to see if it works, I hope it does