Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice on Dimensional Modeling

2 posters

Go down

Advice on Dimensional Modeling  Empty Advice on Dimensional Modeling

Post  Brindha Fri Jul 20, 2012 8:23 pm

I am trying to design a dimensional model for the sales Rep Activity. It would be very helpful if somebody could share their knowledge.i am new to the data modeling.

I have 3 Dimension tables and 2 fact tables(One for Timeout and another for Timein )

Dimension table details:

1.A table to indicate the Sales People details Which has Sales person id,Start and and end date.
2.A table to indicate the Sales People alignment which has Sales person id,Org code, start date(says start date of org code assignment to the sales person) and end date(says end date of the org code assignment to the resource)
3. A table to find the org code is active during the and its hierarchy details which has columns org code, parent org code, level,parent level,org code start date,org code end date.

Fact Table:

1. Time Out fact table gives the details of time out activity .Which has columns Sales person id,Org Code,Activity date,Activity,Duration.
2. Time in fact table gives the details of Time In Activity which has coulmns sales Person id, Org code,Activity date, duration.

Now i need to generate a dimensional model which should be helpful to develop the report the following metrics metrics. No of working days of the month for all the valid org code,Time in duration,Time out duration.

problem is with Time dimension i have Start,end date for the sales person,Org code,Sales person org code alignment and also for the fact tables.I am not able to figure out the the best way to design this model. Request somebody to suggest me the best design based on the given coulmns.

Let me know if any additional information is required for the suggestion.

Brindha

Back to top Go down