Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dealing with System upgrades/supplier renumbering.

2 posters

Go down

Dealing with System upgrades/supplier renumbering. Empty Dealing with System upgrades/supplier renumbering.

Post  KevinGurney Tue Nov 24, 2009 8:14 am

I'm very new to the Data Warehousing arena from an OLTP background and have just had the sudden realization (as I'm sure many do) that it's not simply a case of OLTP with dimensions and surrogate keys

My problem is such:
1. We have a system that has been through three upgrades in the past couple of years.
2. For each upgrade, the suppliers have been renumbered.
For example, what was 1000 under system 1 can now be 3948 in system 2 and 3333 in system 3

The crux here, is the business keys have effectively changed so SCD are tricky (at least with my current understanding).

I believe some kind of mapping table would be useful, however I cannot see how to get that to point multiple records to a single surrogate key is possible.

Also, retaining history of the previously used supplier numbers is beyond me at present.

How do I go about dealing with this? Any thoughts and/or pointers to existing articles greatly appreciated.

p.s. My toolset is limited to SQL Server/SSIS 2005

Thanks,
Kevin.

KevinGurney

Back to top Go down

Dealing with System upgrades/supplier renumbering. Empty Re: Dealing with System upgrades/supplier renumbering.

Post  ngalemmo Tue Nov 24, 2009 12:13 pm