Kimball Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Using Dim Date and results for various measures

Go down

Using Dim Date and results for various measures Empty Using Dim Date and results for various measures

Post  gsaunders Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:55 pm

Hello,

I am fairly new to BI, but fairly knowledgeable in the SQL world.

I have a Data Model with the following (simplified here):

1. Contract Fact view: Contains measures Original Contract Amount, Current Contract Amt, Billed Amount and Actual Cost.  It also contains 3 dates of importance: Actual Date, Post Date and Accounting Month.
  2. Contract Dim view: Contains the Contract attributes.
  3. Company Dim view: Contains the Company attributes.
  4. Three Dim Date views (One for Actual Date, Post Date and Accounting Month)

I create a pivot table with Rows:

1. Company
  2. Contract

And Values:

1. Original Contract Amount, Current Contract Amount, Billed Amount and Actual Cost.

At this level all looks GREAT!

Now... take it to where I want the break out for calendar year the following field are fine:

1. Billed Amt (Sum)
  2. Actual Cost (Sum)

These look good as I am seeing the actual cost or billed amount for those periods of time (by year).

However these columns do not come out like we would want:

1. Original Contract Amount
  2. Current Contract Amount.

Since the transactions in the Contract Fact table are 1 transaction for every hit to Contract you will only see one entry for a specific contract when it comes to Original Contract Amount and you may see 0 to many entries that increase the Contract Amount providing the Current Contract Amount.

So when the date is thrown into the Pivotable Rows you will see these two columns have values on the dates those entries showed up when the user wants to see the running total for these two fields over the date range provided.